My latest multipanel series–Earth Red Field–will be exhibited in a group show at Linda Durham Contemporary Art is Santa Fe beginning next week. The exhibit, called “The Wonder Salon,” opens on Saturday, November 21, 2009, with an all-day reception with the artists and runs through January 4, 2010.  

"Earth Red Field," 12 panels of 20 total, oil on board, each panel: 14x11x1 in.

Earth Red Field, which consists of 20 panels, is the latest of my large multipanel series in which every panel is just a little different in composition and color from every other panel. I don’t think Donald Judd would like my paintings, but his installation of 100 milled aluminum boxes in Marfa, Texas, provided the jumping-off point for these works.

In addition to my new work, “The Wonder Salon” features the creations of a diverse group of Santa Fe women artists: Lynda F. Braun, Marina Brownlow, Rachel Darnell, Anne Farrell, Shaun Gilmore, Sondra Goodwin, Barbara Ingram, Jennifer Joseph, Joanne Lefrak, and Patricia Pierce. Gallery hours are Tuesday-Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm. The gallery is at 1807 Second St. #107, Santa Fe, NM; 505.466.6600; www.lindadurham.com I hope you can come by and see my work in Linda’s beautiful new space.

(Photo: Sean McGarrity)